You got a guy

  • Chicago's #1 Ticket Source
  • 24 Years in Business
  • A+ Rating with the BBB
  • 200% Guarantee
  • Free, Last Minute Pickup

Today is the Day Tickets

Today is the Day Tickets
Today is the Day Tickets Tickets Rated 0.00/5 based on 0 customer reviews 100 0
Today Is The Day is an experimental rock/metal band founded by Steve Austin and Brad Elrod. The band saw its beginnings take root in Nashville, Tennessee in the early 1990s when Today Is The Day released their debut EP, entitled How To Win Friends And Influence People, in 1992. This self-financed release garnered the attention of Amphetamine Reptile Records (AmRep) who signed the band (at this time consisting of Austin on vocals and guitar, Brad Elrod on drums and percussion, and Mike Herrell on bass) in February 1993 and released the full-length Supernova later that year. In September 1994, Today Is The Day saw its popularity in the metal underground gather steam with the release of their second album, entitled Willpower. That same year, Willpower was followed by the Clusterfuck '94 split EP with labelmates Chokebore and Guzzard. Today Is The Day made another appearance on 7" that year, as they contributed to the tenth volume of AmRep's Dope-Guns-'N-Fucking In The Streets 7" series with Brainiac and Steel Pole Bath Tub. Today Is The Day's eponymously-titled March 1996 effort furthered the band's legacy within the metal community. This album was the first Today Is The Day release recorded at Austin's own studio, Austin Enterprise, in Nashville. For this release, Steve Austin shifted the band's sound slightly and opted to replace bassist Mike Herrell with keyboardist Scott Wexton. Today Is The Day would be the band's final recording for AmRep. In 1997 Today Is The Day left the AmRep fold and signed with Philadelphia, Pennsylvania-based metal label Relapse Records. Temple Of The Morning Star was released in September of 1997. For this release, Steve Austin built an entirely new lineup, this time joining forces with bassist/keyboardist Christopher Reeser and drummer Mike Hyde. In addition to Temple Of The Morning Star, Today Is The Day added to their 1997 output by contributing to the In These Black Days 7" series. Released by Hydra Head Records, this series is comprised of six volumes of Black Sabbath covers performed by the following bands in addition to Today Is The Day: Anal Cunt, Eyehategod, Converge, Brutal Truth, Coalesce, Cavity, Cable, Jesuit, Overcast, Cave In, Botch, Neurosis and Soilent Green. For this series, Today Is The Day contributed their rendition of Sabbath Bloody Sabbath, which can also be found as a secret track at the end of Temple Of The Morning Star. For Today Is The Day's August 1999 release, entitled In The Eyes Of God, Steve Austin once again altered Today Is The Day's lineup. For this record Reeser and Hyde were replaced with bassist Bill Kelliher and drummer Brann Dailor, formerly of Rochester, New York's Lethargy and current members of Atlanta, Georgia-based Mastodon. Audiences got their first glimpses of this new lineup live at the Milwaukee Metalfest and the New England Metal and Hardcore Festival. Having moved to Massachusetts in 1998, this was the first Today Is The Day album to be recorded at Austin Enterprise's new location in Clinton, Massachusetts. The years 2000 and 2001 were relatively quiet for Today Is The Day in terms of releasing new material. Live Till You Die was released in August of 2000, and included live tracks recorded during the tours in support of Temple Of The Morning Star and In The Eyes Of God, covers of songs by The Beatles, Bad Company and Chris Isaak, and various odds and ends compiled from studio sessions held at Austin Enterprise during the late-1990s. In 2001 fans were treated to new Today Is The Day songs that were released on splits with Metatron and 16, the first glimpse of new material since 1999. The new songs put out on the split releases in 2001 would prove to be but the tip of the iceberg, as these songs would appear on Today Is The Day's monolithic release Sadness Will Prevail. Sadness Will Prevail was released as a double album in September of 2002 and clocks in at approximately 2 1/2 hours. Taking roughly three years to record, mix, and master, Sadness Will Prevail is the band's most ambitious project to date. In addition, this album kept with Steve Austin's habit of rotating band personnel and Kelliher and Dailor were replaced by Chris Debari and Marshall Kilpatric, respectively. Despite the sheer size of Sadness Will Prevail, Today Is The Day also released their second live album, entitled Temple Of The Morning Star Tour, in 2002. Today Is The Day returned in June of 2004 with an incredibly fast, brutal, and short album entitled Kiss The Pig. While Sadness Will Prevail plays like a progressive rock album, Kiss The Pig exists to be its predecessor's antithesis. Kiss The Pig featured the debut of new drummer Mike Rosswog, previously of Circle Of Dead Children. Rosswog replaced Anal Cunt's John Gillis, who performed live with the band in 2003. Kiss The Pig was the last album released by Today Is The Day on Relapse Records. In December 2006 it was announced that former Hate Eternal drummer Derek Roddy had joined the band and would appear on their next studio album, Axis Of Eden, due in 2007. Roddy is the latest entry in Today Is The Day's rotating drummer slot, following short stints by drummers Jeff Lohrber and Graham Leduc. In 2008, French drummer Julien Granger (Four Question Marks, Darkness Dynamite) joined the band. Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.