You got a guy

  • Chicago's #1 Ticket Source
  • 24 Years in Business
  • A+ Rating with the BBB
  • 200% Guarantee
  • Free, Last Minute Pickup

Omar Rodriguez Lopez Group Tickets

Omar Rodriguez Lopez Group Tickets
Omar Rodriguez Lopez Group Tickets Tickets Rated 0.00/5 based on 0 customer reviews 100 0
The Omar Rodriguez Lopez Group is the main side project of Omar Rodríguez-López. The group is most often a live entity to perform the various outlets of his solo music aside from The Mars Volta. His group began as Omar Rodriguez Lopez Quintet, formed in 2005 when he toured Europe to support his self-titled solo record. The quintet included three other members of The Mars Volta: Juan Alderete, Marcel Rodriguez-Lopez and Adrián Terrazas-González as well as Money Mark of Beastie Boys fame. Omar began this group with these members within only a year or two of them joining The Mars Volta. The album features long, largely improvised instrumentals with Dutch titles. The quintet then collaborated with Damo Suzuki on a 25-minute EP titled Please Heat This Eventually, which was largely taken from a night recorded on their European tour in November 2005. The EP was released exclusively by Gold Standard Laboratories on vinyl only in December 2006, then released widely in January 2007. Another collaborative EP followed later that year, this time between the quintet and Lydia Lunch, as well as the full-length record, The Apocalypse Inside of an Orange, which was a double album vinyl. The quintet has been dubbed Omar Rodriguez Lopez Group since 2006, as indicated on the back cover of Please Heat This Eventually, even though they were known as the Quintet at the time of the performance. The group played a live show in 2007 at Fuji Rock Festival, Japan, and featured Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Thomas Pridgen in the group for the first time, both also of The Mars Volta, as well as Alfredo Ortiz on percussion in addition to Marcel and Terrazas-González. Thomas Pridgen remained the group's drummer for the three years he was also in The Mars Volta, replacing Marcel, who became percussionist and second keyboardist, much like his role in The Mars Volta. 2008 was the last year that Terrazas-González toured with Rodriguez-Lopez, in The Mars Volta or otherwise, after a mutual split planned for a few years. In March 2009, the group got together for another tour in Europe, this time featuring Omar's girlfriend Ximena Sariñana as the vocalist and Mark Aanderud on keyboards instead of Money Mark.[1] In September 2009, a five-track live recording of the March 11, London concert was released digitally and on limited vinyl, titled Los Sueños de un Hígado. It featured songs from Rodriguez-Lopez's albums Se Dice Bisonte, No Bùfalo, Old Money, and Solar Gambling, the last of which would be released 3 months later, with the final track remaining, "Victimas del Cielo," released in studio form on 2010's Cizaña de los Amores. Los Sueños de un Hígado follows the Damo Suzuki and Lydia Lunch collaborative EPs in being the only releases under the name "Omar Rodriguez Lopez Group," two of which are essentially live recordings. A new group, El Grupo Nuevo de Omar Rodriguez Lopez, was announced in Spring 2009, featured on the Cryptomnesia album (recorded in 2006, released in 2009). Rodriguez-Lopez also released Ciencia de los Inútiles under the entity El Trío de Omar Rodriguez Lopez. This trio comprises Omar, Ximena and double bass player Aaron Cruz Bravo. A quartet record was released digitally on May 30, 2010, including Juan, Marcel, and former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante, as well as a record of simply John and Rodriguez-Lopez, released April 30, 2010.[2] Before this, the two had done a few collaborations and live guest appearances, even releasing a single titled "0=2" on The Special 12 Singles Series as Omar A. Rodriguez-Lopez & John Frusciante in 2005 as 7" vinyl, and digitally in 2006. This was released before any of his group recordings, around the same time as Omar Rodriguez. The group was scheduled to be performing for the first time in the United States on May 2, 2010 at Highline Ballroom in New York, though the date was pushed back to September 17 due to "key members" not being available.[3][4][5] It was speculated that Dave Elitch, the current drummer of The Mars Volta, would be performing as part of ORL Group in the future, as he has been credited as having recorded with Omar apart from The Mars Volta on his website.[6] An official statement has since confirmed former collaborator Deantoni Parks to be the drummer for the 2010 tour. He had previously performed as drummer of The Mars Volta in September/October 2006 as a temporary fill-in, and has since remained great friends with the band. Lars Stalfors also joined the group on stage as sound manipulator in 2010. Omar Rodriguez Lopez Group has announced a performance at the Metamorphose Festival in Tokyo, Japan on September 4, 2010.[7] Also added were a Chicago date the night after New York, along with two west coast dates. Further touring of Russia and Europe were then scheduled for November/December, with The Mars Volta scheduled to play two festival shows in South America in October. Meanwhile, Deantoni had also performed as part of Juan Alderete's group Vato Negro for a California date, June 17, as well as the Fuji Rock Festival in Japan in July. Omar joined his friends for the festival show, as the three are working on a Vato Negro album. During December 2010, it was slowly revealed that Deantoni has returned as drummer of The Mars Volta, and has been working with them closely throughout the year. During 2010, Omar had also released a record of older material performed along with Elvin Estela (DJ Nobody) featuring no guitars, Tychozorente, and a collection of songs featuring Ximena & Lisa Papineau as vocalists, Cizaña de los Amores. Then, as surprise digital releases concluding the Group's 2010 touring, Mantra Hiroshima, the second record to feature drumming by Zach Hill, and the appreciatively titled Dōitashimashite, the Group's second live release capturing the U.S. tour, were delivered. Next is the anticipated studio album, Un Escorpión Perfumado, including Marcel, Deantoni, and more vocals by Omar, is coming by year's end, along with Telesterion, a Best Of collection of all of Omar's catalog, comprising 2 CDs or 4 LPs. It is scheduled for European release on December 28 and will feature several new tracks. The group is set to play at the Rodriguez-Lopez Productions and Sargent House showcase at the SXSW Music Festival 2011. Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.