You got a guy

  • Chicago's #1 Ticket Source
  • 24 Years in Business
  • A+ Rating with the BBB
  • 200% Guarantee
  • Free, Last Minute Pickup

Larry Graham & Graham Central Station Tickets

Larry Graham & Graham Central Station Tickets
Larry Graham & Graham Central Station Tickets Tickets Rated 0.00/5 based on 0 customer reviews 100 0
Graham Central Station was a funk band named after founder Larry Graham(formerly of Sly and the Family Stone) and Grand Central Station in New York City. The band's origins date from when Santana guitarist Neal Schon formed the band Azteca along with Larry Graham (bass guitar) and Gregg Errico (drums), both from Sly and the Family Stone, and Peter Sears (keyboards), from Hot Tuna and Jefferson Starship. Santana bass guitar player Tom Rutley would move into to the bass spot with Azteca. That band, like Santana with heavy Latin influences, would eventually morph into Graham Central Station, while Schon would found Journey. Graham Central Station's biggest hit was Your Love, which charted at number 9 in 1975. The group integrated Graham's slap bass style along with influences ranging from marching band to gospel. They played with the dichotomy between the funk rock star image and the "sanctified" gospel group image. Some of their recordings feature their then Warner Bros labelmates Tower of Power horn section. Graham went solo in the later 1970's having a chart hit with "One in a Million, You". While no longer as popular as in the 70's, Larry Graham (born in Beaumont Texas in 1946) continues to tour & play music into the 21st century, most notably with Prince with whom he shares an interest in the Jehovah's Witness religion. In 1999, Graham recorded an album for Prince's label under the Graham Central Station moniker that featured old Sly Stone era bandmates Cynthia Robinson and sax player Jerry Martini and performed on Prince's "Rave Un2 2000" live DVD and appeared as a featured act throughout Prince's Jam of The Year tour. Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.