You got a guy

  • Chicago's #1 Ticket Source
  • 24 Years in Business
  • A+ Rating with the BBB
  • 200% Guarantee
  • Free, Last Minute Pickup

John Eaton Tickets

John Eaton Tickets
John Eaton Tickets Tickets Rated 0.00/5 based on 0 customer reviews 100 0
John Charles Eaton (March 30, 1935 – December 2, 2015) was an American composer, recipient of the Prix de Rome, Guggenheim Fellow, MacArthur Fellow and professor emeritus of composition at the University of Chicago. John Eaton was born in Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania. He attended Princeton University, where he graduated in 1957. He later lived in Rome (1957–68), returning to Princeton to earn a Ph.D. in 1970. He subsequently held faculty appointments at Indiana University (1970–92) and the University of Chicago (1989–99). Eaton was a prominent composer of microtonal music, and worked with Paul Ketoff and Robert Moog during the 1960s in developing several types of synthesizers. He innovated a compositional genre called pocket opera, operas scored for a small cast of vocalists and a chamber group. His most famous opera is The Cry of Clytaemnestra (1980), a re-telling of some of the events surrounding the Trojan War from the perspective of Agamemnon's wife Clytaemnestra, which has been hailed as the first feminist opera. It was premièred in Bloomington, at the Indiana University Opera Theater, on 1 March 1980, and received a number of subsequent productions, most notably in New York and California. Eaton's opera, The Tempest, with a libretto by Andrew Porter after William Shakespeare, was premièred at the Santa Fe Opera on 27 July 1985, and subsequently performed in the autumn of 1986 at the Indiana University School of Music. During his tenure at the University of Chicago, Eaton concentrated on works for smaller ensembles, including chamber operas that involved dramatic participation of the instrumentalists alongside the singers. He founded and directed The Pocket Opera Players, a professional troupe dedicated to the performance of his works in this genre, and occasionally those of fellow composers interested in the form. He continued to lead the Pocket Opera Players in New York City, after his retirement from Chicago in 2001. His works can be researched through the American Composers Alliance. Eaton died on December 2, 2015 in Manhattan. Operas Ma Barker (written 1957–58) Herakles (written 1964; 10 October 1968, Turin) Myshkin (23 April 1973 Bloomington, Ind.) The Lion and Androcles (written 1973; 1 May 1974 Indianapolis) Danton and Robespierre (written 1978; 21 April 1978 Bloomington) The Cry of Clytemnestra (written 1979–80; 1 March 1980 Bloomington) The Tempest (written 1983–85; 27 July 1985 Santa Fe) The Reverend Jim Jones (written 1989) Let's Get This Show on the Road (written 1993) Golk (written 1995) Antigone (written 1999) . . . inasmuch (written 2002) King Lear (written 2003–2004) Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.