You got a guy

  • Chicago's #1 Ticket Source
  • 24 Years in Business
  • A+ Rating with the BBB
  • 200% Guarantee
  • Free, Last Minute Pickup

Apoptygma Berzerk Tickets

Apoptygma Berzerk Tickets
Apoptygma Berzerk Tickets Tickets Rated 0.00/5 based on 0 customer reviews 100 0
Apoptygma Berzerk is a Norwegian ebm/futurepop/synthrock musical group, formed in 1989. The current lineup includes Stephan Groth (vocals, programming, guitars, samples), Brandon Smith (guitars) and Thomas Jakobsen (drums). The group has achieved moderate commercial success with a unique brand of gloomy, danceable gothic synthpop, winning awards and Top-10 spots in Germany and Scandinavia. The band's name is commonly abbreviated to APOP or APB. In 1989, Stephan Groth and Jon Erik Martinsen formed Apoptygma Berzerk in Norway. They wrote several songs, one of them "Ashes To Ashes" would later be released as a 12" single on the Norwegian label Tatra Productions in 1991. Martinsen left the band shortly afterwards feeling uncomfortable with the direction of the band's music. Since then the band had many lineup changes, Groth being the only constant members. Stephan Groth claims that the band name was randomly picked out of a dictionary. Apoptygma is an old Greek word for the fold of a woman's garment. Technically the 'y' ought to be pronounced like a long 'u', but the band's name is commonly pronounced a-pop-TIG-ma or a-pop-TEEG-ma. Apoptygma Berzerk released six studio albums so far: Soli Deo Gloria in 1993, 7 in 1996, Welcome To Earth in 2000, Harmonizer in 2002, You and Me Against the World in 2005, and Rocket Science in 2009. The first two albums, Soli Deo Gloria and 7 were a similar style of synthpop and EBM. Welcome to Earth featured an evolved EBM/synthpop sound. Harmonizer featured a softer, more synthpop-oriented direction. You and Me Against the World represented an almost complete change in style for the band, from EBM to indie rock-oriented sound. Rocket Science continued the rock-oriented direction of their sound. They also released three compilations (The Apopcalyptic Manifesto in 1998, The Singles Collection in 2003 , Sonic Diary in 2006), three live albums (APBL98 in 1999, APBL2000 in 2001, Imagine There's No Lennon in 2010) and three live DVDs (APBL2000 in 2001, The Harmonizer DVD in 2004, Imagine There's No Lennon in 2010). In total, the band issued six EPs: Victims of Mutilation in 1990, The 2nd Manifesto in 1992, Mourn EP in 1997, Unicorn EP in 2004, Black EP in 2006, and Green Queen in 2009. List of former band members: Jon Erik Martensen: keyboards (1989) Per Aksel Lundgreen: keyboards/manager (1991–1994) Anders Odden: guitars (1992-1999) Geir Bratland: keyboards/backing vocals (1995-2009) Fredrik Darum: producer/live guitarist (1999–2001) Ted Skogmann: drums and guitar (1999–2002) Fredrik Brarud: drums (2002-2009) Audun Stengel (Angel): guitars (2002-2009) Anders Odden: guitars (2003-2006) Official site: Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.